Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Jul 13, 2023 in Blog | 0 comments

About the Poker Hall of Fame (Class of 2023)


I have no opinion on Brian Rast as the sole inductee into the Poker Hall of Fame as the only member of the Class of 2023.

Typically, I would not care about such a flawed, painfully inept induction process fraught with inequity run by a governing body totally lacking in transparency. As stewards of the Poker Hall of Fame, Caesars had 20 years to get it right, but has repeatedly failed.

Bypassing Matt Savage yet another year (after 9 nominations) and omitting PokerStars founder Isai Scheinberg (who brought more people into the game of poker than anyone in history) is a travesty.  Moreover, failing to even nominate pioneers like David Sklansky or Mike Caro (and others) is an embarrassing farce.

I know this subject firsthand, having been heavily involved in the process 2002-2016.  I was on the PHOF Executive Committee for more than a decade with Caesars Interactive Entertainment; and a media voting member for many years; as well as the emcee who hosted the official induction ceremony three times; and gave the induction speeches for five current members. Accordingly, I’m glad to NOT have my name attached to this rigged insider fanboy popularity contest.*

This entire process and shortsighted outcome are a disgrace to the game.  Everyone deserves better.

*I resigned as a PHOF voting member in protest in 2016.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *